//10 CPI(M) workers get jail term

10 CPI(M) workers get jail term

THALASSERY: Ten Communist Party of India (Marxist) workers were sentenced to rigorous imprisonment (RI) for 14 years and six months on Friday in a case of attacking and vandalising the house a Bharatiya Mahila Morcha activist near Kathirur here in 1998. Additional and District Sessions Court Fast Track I Court judge A.K. Vijayan awarded the sentence to Mullan Pavithran, Mullan Rajeevan, Mulloli Sreejith, Vengilat Divakaran, Kandathil Manoj, Shaji, T. Sunil Kumar, Kottiyodan Rajeevan, Thattantavida Suran, and Paraprath Surendran. They were charged with attacking and looting valuable articles from the house of Mahila Morcha worker Sathidevi of Ukkasmotta at Kathirur. The judge also awarded a fine of Rs.15,000 each to the convicts. The Court sentenced each convict to six months RI under Section 143 of the Indian Penal Code (unlawful assembly), one year IR under IPC 147 (unlawful assembly with rioting), three year RI along with a fine of Rs.5,000 each under IPC 452 (house breaking), and other jail terms under various section of the IPC Hindu, Jan 7, 2006 http://www.hindu.com/2006/01/07/stories/2006010713960400.htm