//EC announces poll dates for 5 states

EC announces poll dates for 5 states

New Delhi: The dates for the elections to the state Assemblies of Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Pondicherry have been announced by the Chief Election Commissioner BB Tandon on Wednesday.

Assam will have two-phase elections and the voting will take place on April 3 and 10.

West Bengal, where the Oppostion parties have been complaining about the rigging of polls by the Left parties, will have a five-phase elections.

The poll dates are April 17, 22, 27, May 3 and 8.

A three-phased elections will be held for Kerala Assembly on April 22, 29 and May 3.

Tamil Nadu will have a one-day poll on May 8.

Pondicherry will have one day poll on May 8 except in Mahe adjoining Kerala and Yanam adjoining Andhra Pradesh on May 3.

Counting of votes in all the states will take place on May 11.