//BJP suspends 7 party MLAs, expells one

BJP suspends 7 party MLAs, expells one

Lucknow, March 29 (PTI): Cracking down on party MLAs involved in cross-voting in Tuesday’s Rajya Sabha biennial elections, the BJP suspended seven legislators from the party and expelled another.

State BJP media in-charge, Narendra Singh Rana, said in a release quoting state unit chief, Kesri Nath Tripathi, that those suspended were Gangabux Singh, Fagu Chauhan, Amarjeet Singh Jansevak, Ram Prasad Chaudhary, Chotey Lal Verma, Badshah Singh and Puran Singh Bundela.

Party MLA from Moradabad Sandeep Agarwal, who had earlier been suspended, was being expelled, Rana said.

Senior BJP leader and a candidate in Tuesday’s Rajya Sabha elections, Kalraj Mishra, said earlier in the day that as many as nine party MLAs had indulged in cross-voting.

He said a petition for the disqualification of all these MLAs would be brought before the Speaker soon.