//Everything in a name!

Everything in a name!

The Bard of Stratford-upon-Avon might have asked what is in a name? But voters in some Assembly constituencies will have a difficult time in choosing their candidates if they decide to go strictly by the names mentioned in the electronic voting machines.

In the keenly contested Koduvally constituency, where State president of the Democratic Indira Congress (Karunakaran) K. Muraleedharan is in the fray, there are two other Muraleedharans contesting as Independent candidates. One of them is Kizhakathedu Muraleedharan and the other is K.M. Muraleedharan. The LDF-supported P.T.A. Rahim also has a competitor by the same name – P.P.A. Rahim, who is also contesting as an Independent.

In the prestigious Kozhikode-I constituency where Minister for Forests and Environment A. Sujanapal is seeking re-election, there is an Independent candidate by name Sujanabalan Nair. CPI(M) candidate K. Pradeepkumar who is taking on Mr. Sujanapal faces a bigger problem. An Independent candidate, K. Pradeepkumar is in the fray.

At Koyilandy constituency, P. Sankaran and P. Viswan, of DIC(K) and CPI(M) respectively will have to campaign with their respective symbols if they do not want to lose votes in favour of Independent candidates, P. Sankaran and P. Viswanathan. In Thiruvambady, from where IUML nominee Mayin Haji is contesting, there is an independent candidate Mayin.