//Bad luck for women in Kerala

Bad luck for women in Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram, DHNS:
The number of women in the new Kerala assembly will go down to seven from nine in the outgoing 11th assembly.

Six of the seven women legislators belong to the CPM while one is from CPI. Five of them are new-comers. The Opposition will not have none from the fairer sex.

The star among women MLAs will undoubtedly be Ayesha Potty, who trounced Kerala Congress (B) strongman R Balakrishna Pillai at Kottarakkara by a margin of 12,087 votes. Other CPM members are P K Sreemathy, K K Shylaja, K K Lathika, K S Saleekha and J Arundhati. E S Bijimol of CPI won the Peermade seat in Idukki.

Sindhu Joy and M S Josephine of CPM lost the battle to Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and State Industry Minister V K Ibrahim Kunju respectively.

. UDF-DIC(K) women candidates Savithri Lakshmanan (Cong), Maleth Sarala Devi and Sobhana George (DIC(K) and K R Gowri Amma (JSS) lost the contest.

Young MLA

The youngest member of the new assembly will be P C Vishnunath, state chief of KSU, the student wing of the Congress. The 27-year-old bachelor had a remarkable victory from Chengannur in Alappuzha, a constituency represented by DIC(K) leader Sobhana George in the last assembly.

Ms George had shifted to a ‘safer’ seat in Thiruvananthpuram West, fearing a backlash in Chengannur, a seat she had abandoned while leaving the Congress.