//India's UN HR Council membership is limited to 1 Year

India's UN HR Council membership is limited to 1 Year

Irrespective of our nation's triumphant election to UN Human Rights Council with largest vote, India will be serving only for a limited term of 1 Year, while Pakistan will have 2 Years and Bengladesh will be there for 3 Years! Confused? You are meant to be.

The number of years each country will serve on the Council is below.

“Elected for one year are Algeria, Morocco, South Africa, Tunisia, Bahrain, Indonesia, Philippines, India, Poland, Czech Republic, Argentina, Ecuador, Finland and the Netherlands.

Nations serving for two years are Gabon, Ghana, Mali, Zambia, Pakistan, Japan, Sri Lanka, Republic of Korea, Romania, Ukraine, Brazil, Guatemala, Peru, the United Kingdom and France.

Cameroon, Djibouti, Mauritius, Nigeria, Senegal, Bangladesh, China, Jordan, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Azerbaijan, Russia, Cuba, Mexico, Uruguay, Canada, Germany and Switzerland will serve for three years.

In the future, nations will be elected to three-year terms of office.”

If you are still confused, find out it from United Nations Human Rights Council Website itself.


Membership | Candidates | Other Links

The Council is composed of 47 members (with year of term's end)

African States: Algeria (2007), Cameroon (2009), Djibouti (2009), Gabon (2008),
Ghana (2008), Mali (2008), Mauritius (2009), Morocco (2007), Nigeria (2009),
Senegal (2009), South Africa (2007), Tunisia (2007) and Zambia (2008)

Asian States: Bahrain (2007), Bangladesh (2009), China (2009), India (2007),
Indonesia (2007), Japan (2008), Jordan (2009), Malaysia (2009), Pakistan (2008),
Philippines (2007), Republic of Korea (2008), Saudi Arabia (2009) and Sri Lanka (2008)

Eastern European States: Azerbaijan (2009), Czech Republic (2007),
Poland (2007), Romania (2008), Russian Federation (2009) and Ukraine (2008)

Latin American & Caribbean States: Argentina (2007), Brazil (2008) , Cuba (2009),
Ecuador (2007), Guatemala (2008), Mexico (2009), Peru (2008) and Uruguay (2009)

Western European & Other States: Canada (2009), Finland (2007), France (2008),
Germany (2009), Netherlands (2007), Switzerland (2009) and United Kingdom

General Assembly President announces results AM | PM1 | PM2
General Assembly President Media Stakeout
Press release

The first election of the members of the newly established Human Rights Council (HRC) was held by the General Assembly on 9 May 2006. Term of office will begin on 19 June 2006.

Member States listed below announced their candidacies in writing and were elected directly and individually by a majority of the Members of the General Assembly. They shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms (para.7 of resolution A/RES/60/251).

Pledges that Member States have chosen to provide to the Secretariat in support of their respective candidacies are being made available in the language submitted.

(P) with pledge [Click on the country name to view the pledge – in PDF]
African States
(13 seats)
Asian States
(13 seats)
Eastern European States
(6 seats)
Latin American & Caribbean States
(8 seats)
Western European & Other States
(7 seats)
Algeria (P) Bangladesh (P) Albania (P) Argentina (P) Canada (P)
Cameroon (P) Bahrain (P) Armenia (P) Brazil (P) Finland (P)
Djibouti (P) China (P) Azerbaijan (P) Cuba (P) France (P)
Gabon (P) India (P) Czech Rep. (P) Ecuador (P) Germany (P)
Ghana (P) Indonesia (P) Georgia
Guatemala (P) Greece (P)
Mali (P) Iran (P) Hungary (P) Mexico (P) Netherlands (P)
Mauritius (P) Iraq (P) Latvia (P) Nicaragua (P) Portugal (P)
Morocco (P) Japan (P) Lithuania (P) Peru (P) Switzerland (P)
Nigeria (P) Jordan (P) Poland (P) Uruguay (P) United Kingdom (P)
Senegal (P) Kyrgyzstan (P) Romania (P) Venezuela (P)  
South Africa (P) Lebanon (P) Russian Federation (P)    
Tunisia (P) Malaysia (P) Slovenia (P)    
Zambia (P) Pakistan (P) Ukraine (P)    
  Philippines (P)      
  Rep. of Korea (P)      
  Saudi Arabia (P)      
  Sri Lanka (P)      
  Thailand (P)