//BJP candidates` homes attacked by gunmen

BJP candidates` homes attacked by gunmen

The Imphal Free Press

IMPHAL, May 30: Ahead of polling for the Imphal Municipality elections, the houses of two BJP women candidates were fired upon by unidentified miscreants late this evening.

According to reports, miscreants fired upon the house of BJP candidate contesting from ward no.2, G Radhamani Devi a resident of Thangmeiband Watham Leirak at around 7 pm.

The residence of another BJP candidate, W. Ibemcha Devi located at Thangmeiband Meinam Leikai, also suffered the same fate about half an hour later. There were no report of any casualties in both the attacks.

Police suspects the attackers to be members of an underground group. This, however, could not be immediately confirmed. At the time of filing this report no underground group has claimed responsible for the the attacks.

Mention may be made here that on the last day of withdrawal of candidature eight persons who had been nominated as official candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Party changed their nominations to that of independent candidates.

Even as there were reports of candidates receiving threats from unknown persons, there were no official report in the police department as none had filed any complaint officially of threats from any quarter.

Besides, on what grounds the RO allowed the request of the BJP nominated candidates to contest as independent candidates on the scrutiny day is still a mystery to the people.

After 8 out of 12 persons who filed their candidatures as BJP candidates changed their candidature as independent, only four official candidates of BJP remained in the fray. Besides Radhamani and Ibemcha, the other two candidates who are still in the fray as BJP official candidates were N Nimbus contesting in Uripok ward no. 3 and H Raju Sharma in Ward no. 4.

The BJP candidates who switched over to being independent candidates are: K Budha Singh, M Amarjit, Dr. E Ibehaibi Devi and Ksh Inaocha Singh who filed their nominations in ward nos. 7, 8,15, and 16 respectively of Imphal west and Tingneilam Haokip, Haopu Simte, Angom Sijahanbi Devi and Sangita Khati who are contesting in ward nos. 21, 22, 23 and 26 respectively.