//Retired bigwigs get together to fight corruption

Retired bigwigs get together to fight corruption


New Delhi, June 23:

Boasting of big names such as former Mr chief justice R C Lahoti and former poll body chief, Mr J M Lygndoh as its founder members, a citizens’ group has been formed to check corruption in public life.India Rejuvenation Initiative (IRI) or Bharat Punaruthhan Abhiyan came into being last week as a non-political and social forum formed by some conscientious individuals. “The group will adopt legal and democratic means to bring about changes and improve accountability in all matters of importance to the public and the nation,” former police chief of Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir and Mumbai, Mr J Ribeiro, who is a member, said in a press release on Friday.

At its first meeting, IRI resolved to expose corruption, gross inaction and inefficiency in high places. The forum also decided to support honest public servants so that they are able to continue their hard work fearlessly.

The members were unanimous about the need to make the initiative a mass movement and to give voice to those who are at the receiving end of the system.

One of the start-up actions proposed is to prevent the creation of VIP facilities for the privileged like public servants, appropriate means to satisfy the needs of the common man and law abiding citizens. The IRI also decided to work for strengthening decentralised governance in the country.

The forum made an appeal to all citizens to come forward and join hands in this initiative. The e-mail of the organisation is [email protected]

Besides Mr Lahoti, Mr Lygndoh and Mr Ribeiro, the forum has as members former comptroller and auditor general of India, Mr V K Shunglu and former chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC), Mr Hari Gautam.

It also includes retired chief of air staff Air Chief Marshal S Krishnaswamy, former secretaries to the Union government, Mr S A T Rizvi and Mr N C Saxena, renowned educationist, Mr H C Pandey, former Border Security Force (BSF) chief, Mr Prakash Singh, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur director, Mr S K Dube, journalist, Sharat Pradhan and administrative officers, Messrs S R Lakha, V S Pandey, Raju Sharma, Sunil Kumar and Renuka Kumar, besides police officer, Mr Jasbir Singh.